Ignore What They Said <— In my Jesus voice

I started reading a devotional entitled ‘Praying God’s Word’ and it is a group of prayer cards that I downloaded to my iPhone, and the first set of prayer cards are about Overcoming Unbelief. The creator of the cards shares that there’s a difference between believing in God and believing God. What’s the difference? Glad you asked!
Believing IN God means that you believe that He exists, that He is God of all creation. You believe that He is real. Believing God means that if He said it, He will do it.. no questions asked! You believe God to be a keeper of His Holy Word.

The creator of the prayer cards says that the Holy Spirit revealed to her that she believed Him for so little, encouraged her to stop being so safe in the things she prayed for and even went as far as to ask her ” Who are you trying to keep from looking foolish? Me or You?”
At that question, I actually stopped and chuckled because that is so me. I often find myself not seeking God for the things that I know I need out of fear of my prayers not being answered and me being disappointed by it and set back. Simply put, I didn’t BELIEVE GOD. I believed IN Him hence the reason I prayed, but I didn’t want to look foolish.

As I read the devotional I came to a scripture in Mark 5:35-36 (the encounter actually starts in verse 21 of this same chapter… check it out!) But there is a man who came to see Jesus because of his sick daughter, as he is pouring his heart out to Jesus, some men from his household come and tell him to stop bothering Jesus because his daughter has died!

WHAT!!! OMG!

Had that been me, I would have fallen further to my knees! My face would have been planted in the dirt you hear me?! Not necessarily in worship but in anguish! I would’ve beaten myself up so badly with shoulda-coulda-woulda’s. I shoulda came sooner. I coulda pushed that woman with the issue of blood out of the way, I woulda hoped that Jesus would’ve answered me before my daughter died!!!! I would’ve done ALLLLL of this, all while missing the fact that I was AT THE FEET OF JESUS!!!

Believing IN Him, but not BELIEVING HIM!

Have you ever done that? You’ve sought God out, commanded and got His attention and you say “Lord, please give us world peace, and please feed the hungry, Amen” KNOWING full on that you need God to bring your daughter back to life! Maybe not from a physical death, but from a spiritual death because she is sleeping around, drinking, smoking, cutting, depressed, angry.. WHATEVER.. and you end your prayer with AMEN. A clear example of Jesus asking ” honey I know that your daughter needs healing, but why didn’t you ask Me? Who do you think is going to look foolish? Me or You?

What I love is what happens in verse 36 Ignoring what they said, JESUS TOLD the synagogue ruler,” Don’t be afraid, just believe”. Did you catch that? Jesus heard exactly what the man had heard, that his daughter was dead, but Jesus wasn’t worried about looking foolish, and he looked straight into the mans heart and let him know that he didn’t have to worry about looking foolish either…he just needed to believe! The account goes on to say that Jesus went to the mans house and told the little girl to GET UP! #BOOM!!!!!!

Listen, I ain’t gonna lie; I don’t always believe God, I believe fear. I don’t always trust God, I trust what I can see, and I trust what has been. But I am encouraged today that God is not worried about looking foolish and neither should I. Neither should you. When I am faced with a hard thing, and my faith seems to be null and void, I will pray the short prayer in Mark 9:24 “I do believe, help me to overcome my unbelief!”

Whatever you are seeking God for today, be it a reliable car, a safer place to live, a prodigal child to come home, your own strongholds to be torn down, for your child to stop being bullied, for your sons tuition to be covered, for your marriage to be restored, for God to reveal His call on your life, WHAT EVER it is that YOU need from God… JUST BELIEVE

I love you to life, but God loves you BEYOND THAT! Can you believe it?!
~Smooches,
Kisha

Tell me what'cha think?

