I’m new….with old tendencies

I personally think that striving to be better is a part of our human nature. Some times we strive for better and hit our mark; and sometimes our intent is not aligned with our determination (or lack off) and we find our self staying the same.

What we consistently put out into this world, right or wrong, someone is always expecting you to be that.

Nothing changing.

If your a writer,people expect you to write. If your a club hopper, people expect you to club hop, if you are a church-goer, people expect you to go to church…I’m just saying! But if they find you deviating from who they know you to be, there is usually some resistance.

So what happens when you decide to take on the mind of Christ; to become a new being in Him, then what?

2 Corinthians 5:17 says “Therfore if any man be in Christ, he is a new creature: old things are passed away, behold all things are become new.”

So here I am, a new creature in Christ but struggling with some old tendencies. I fall and falter, I struggle and I mess up. Praying for deliverance along the way, but fighting against the “me” that I allowed to live for so long. A bastard me if you will, harsh but its true. Any image that I put out that is contrary to who GOD created me to be is a bastard. Its unfounded and un-fathered…no if ands or buts about it!

So as I go on my journey experiencing and accepting and showing the true
me I have to understand that I will be met with resistance; especially if I slip.

When someone that I drank with realizes that I no longer drink, they will question it an may even resent it. The person that I gossiped with will find me odd when I say, “that’s not a conversation I will have” and more than likely be pissed with me.

But I’m striving for my new promised being, my new promised life. I may slip along the way, I may even fall and get bruised, but I will get up and show you the me that was there all along.

Nothing broken! Nothing missing! BEHOLD ALL THINGS ARE NEW!

Tell me what'cha think?

