I wanna go to beautiful…………

I received a daily devotional tonight entitled ” Let Him Comfort You” (The Vine).   The devotional spoke about the comfort of God and how no matter what is going on, no matter how bad a situation may seem, God’s comfort will always be there.  As I sit and think about that, I realize that I have deprived myself of the very thing that I need, and the very thing that my Lord and Savior Jesus Christ wants to give me…COMFORT.  You see, I struggle with an intellect that pushes me to skip prayer and begin planning, thinking, and figuring.  Thinking about my life as a Christian woman and the beauty and bounty that it brings.  Thinking about my children, my husband, my finances, my books, my everything, if it is something to be concerned with, I’M CONCERNED.  However in all of my thinking, I never allowed myself to rest in the comfort of my Lord and Savior Jesus Christ.   I mean, when I think about that I envision a pillow that feels like a cloud if you were able to touch it.  So soft, yet firm enough to support you, and the smell of fresh white clothes being line dried in the beautiful summer sun.  A day that has no humidity, just a perfect balance of heat and cool breeze.   mmmmmmmmm my mind just floats right there.  

The devotional referenced 2 Corinthians 1:3 Blessed be God, even the Father of our Lord Jesus Christ , the Father of mercies, and the God of all comfort. (KJV)   Did you catch that??? The God of ALL comfort!

But wait! There’s more!  2 Corinthians 1:4 Who comforteth us in all our tribulation that we may be able to comfort them which are in any trouble, by the comfort wherewith we ourselves are comforted of God. (KJV)

Yes you read it correctly ALLLLLLLLL not just some of our tribulations, but all of them! I am so happy to know that, but God blesses us to be a blessing, not only will He comfort you in your times of need, but He blesses you to be a comforter to others in their time of trouble.  OH YEAH, HE’S THAT BAD! WOOP WOOOP!

As I thought about God’s comfort, the feel, the smell it reminded of one of my favorite songs, Beautiful, by India.Arie.  Here is a portion of the song that describes so well God’s place of comfort.

“I wanna go to a place where I am nothing and everything
That exists between here and nowhere
I wanna go to a place where time has no consequences oh yeah
The sky opens to my prayers”

Ahhh yes, that is the place of comfort, God’s heavenly comfort.  I pray today that I never deny God the opportunity to comfort me.. I want to cuddle up in that space of cloud pillows that smell freshly lined dried in the warmest sun and the coolest breeze, where I’m nothing at all, but everything in the hands of my Lord, where time doesn’t exist and where the sky opens and receives my prayers.

I pray you allow yourself a trip to….beautiful

3 thoughts on “I wanna go to beautiful…………

    • I give all honor to God who trusted me enough to make me a scribe, a writer. I thank you and ask that you continue to allow God access to your heart with no strings attached! God bless you!

Tell me what'cha think?

