So you call yourself a “Christian” ehhhhh? God is NOT impressed!

7 But when he saw many Pharisees and Sadducees coming to watch him baptize, he denounced them. “You brood of snakes!” he exclaimed. “Who warned you to flee God’s coming wrath? 8 Prove by the way you live that you have repented of your sins and turned to God. 9 Don’t just say to each other, ‘We’re safe, for we are descendants of Abraham.’ That means nothing, for I tell you, God can create children of Abraham from these very stones. 10 Even now the ax of God’s judgment is poised, ready to sever the roots of the trees. Yes, every tree that does not produce good fruit will be chopped down and thrown into the fire. (Matt. 3:7-10 NLV – biblegateway.com)

Preface: I started writing this blog on Friday…but had to put it on pause…sorry for the delay :”)

I asked Abba Friday (11/13), “whats on my agenda today” and He said, read Matthew chapter 3.  I said , “Matthew chapter 3?” “Yes.” ” OK”. And so the conversation went.  I read the entire chapter and froze when I read verse 9!  My God, we are repeating the same pattern that was displayed then! We are hiding behind “titles”.  Then, the people thought they were safe from the pits of hell because they were “Children of Abraham” today, we feel we are safe from the pits of hell because we call ourselves “Christians.”  It threw me for a loop, because John the Baptist was so real, he basically said, “you fools come a dime a dozen!! Children of Abraham?? PUH-LEEZE! God can draft up more where you came from so that whole cover up is NOT working!!!  How many times do we see and post  on Facebook, see and write in text messages, or speak and hear in conversation, IM’A CHRISTIAN, IM’A CHRISTIAN, IM’A CHRISTIAN….

As I read this book in Matthew, I could hear Abba saying…Christians??? CHRISTIANS???? C H R I S T I A N S???? I’M NOT IMPRESSED!   We have become so comfortable with this new found title that we profess Christianity and live like satan worshippers! OH NO, NOT ME YOU SAY??? Well let me ask you this….how many conversations have you entertained that tore someone down instead of esteemed them?  How many times did someone give you too much change back in a store, and you kept it?? How many times did your children (yours or ones you know) make a mistake and you practically ripped their heads off with your words?? How many times have you opted to stay home from church service because you had “better things” to do? How many times have you reached for the remote, all the while feeling in your spirit that Abba wanted to talk to you? At this place….you can add your own, HOW MANY TIMES question, because I’m not even gonna front, my hands were up on ALL of these! Maybe not in recent history, but nevertheless, I’ve done them all!  I pointed these out to just say, this is NOT the behavior of a Christian.  We have to do more than profess it, we have to L I V E it! And the beautiful thing is , is that God already knows that we can’t do it on our own, hence the beautiful lil’ (pretty big in my mind) gifts called Grace and Mercy! 

God wants us to go beyond salvation, and really walk into Kingdom living! Kingdom living is giving God some time in our day, after all He is the one that gave us the day! The least that we can do is share it with Him!  Share Him with a stranger, heck, share Him with a friend! We know that we are in love with Jesus and more than impressed and in awe with all that He’s done for us when we share Him.  It’s like getting that perfect pair of jeans. You know the ones you put on and can’t nobody tell you nothing!? You feel so good in them you don’t want to take them off, and when someone compliments you on them you AUTOMATICALLY give up the store name, location, price and exactly where in the store they can find them… “girl when you walk in the door walk 3 feet, take a quick left and BAM they’re gonna be right there folded on the tables!”  And your excited to tell them and can’t wait for them to experience what you do in those jeans.  Well that is the same, attitude we should have when sharing Jesus, this is apart of us living out our titles as Christians.  When someone says, girl, you look great! Have you lost weight? Your reply is honey, I lost the weight of the world, and picked up a beautiful new life! They’re gonna be intrigued, just by the enthusiasm in your voice. Oh yeah it takes practice and boldness, because sharing Jesus has become a “crazy” persons thing to do and who wants to be labeled crazy right? But our blueprint for this life (The Bible) tells us in 1 Corinthians 1:27 that God uses the foolish things in order to make those of us who feel we are wise, confused… so be crazy for Jesus! Cuz folk will be looking at you as if your foolish, but Lord knows you are wiser than they could EVER imagine!

OK I’m gonna wrap this up because I don’t wanna get preachy, because that was not my intent, but I just wanted to share that it’s time to live as Christians, and not just make the phrase a cliché! Think about this, why aren’t people flocking to God? The reason, WE, you me and Baebae n’nem are confessing Christianity, but our lives are a screwed up, finger popping in’da club, ’40 on Saturday, and singin’ in the choir on Sunday MESS! There is nothing attractive about  our lives, nothing that will pull them from the world… but as John the Baptist said as he baptized by water, LIVE! LIVE! LIVE! Let your life reflect the wonders of our Savior. Does it mean that your life is absolutely perfect…NO, but does it mean that you have power in this life, ABSOLUTELY YES!

Jesus is so beautiful, that no matter what happened yesterday, He has blessed you with today to get it right, apologize, and accept Him fully. He teaches us that it is not His will that anyone, ANYONE should die and go to hell ( 2 Peter 3:9) but that we all come to know Him and accept Him. But God wants us to know that He’s coming back(( 2 Peter 3:10), we may be dead when He does, or we may be alive, we don’t know, and don’t trick yourself into thinking that you know, and that you have “time”, the time is now! Do it now… God is not asking for you to be perfect…He’s just asking for you to be willing….

Be blessed and LIVE!!!

2 thoughts on “So you call yourself a “Christian” ehhhhh? God is NOT impressed!

  1. Tikisha,

    I read all of your blogs. You are an amazing writer. Continue to allow God to use you and continue to be real. Remember keep the FAITH in God and watch what he do in your life. The best is yet to come! You deserve the BEST and you will have the BEST! So get ready to RECEIVE all that God has in store for you. Love you,

    • Sabrina, it really means a lot to me! I am so grateful to God for the gifts that He has given me. My prayer is that everthing He has given me, I use to His glory! I love you and I thank you… from one DreamGRL to another….YOU ROCK!

Tell me what'cha think?

